The Aberdeen Environmental and Shade Tree Advisory Board (AESTAB) advises the Township Council, Planning Board, and Township Manager in Aberdeen, New Jersey, USA, on issues such as pollution, recycling, and risk tree management.

For related sites, see our Township page and Facebook page.

Origins and Mandate

“The Environmental Advisory Board” was created by RESOLUTION No. 72-55 on May 15, 1972 back when Aberdeen Township was still called Matawan Township. Five members appointed by the Township would serve annual terms ending on 31 December.

On January 19, 1981, ORDINANCE No. 1-1981 renamed the board “The Environmental and Shade Tree Advisory Board” and expanded its duties to include shade tree responsibilities.

On February 4, 1992, ORDINANCE No. 2-1992 added two Board seats to be filled by Matawan-Aberdeen Regional High School students.

Chapter ii, article IX, 2-47.3, revised general ordinances,  Environmental and Shade Tree Advisory Board

  • a. Creation; Members. There shall be an Environmental and Shade Tree Advisory Board known as the Environmental and Shade Tree Advisory Board of the Township of Aberdeen. The Board shall be composed of five (5) persons and two (2) alternates, who shall be appointed by the Township Council for terms ending January 31 of each year, the Chairman of which is to be elected by a majority of the members thereof each year. The Board shall also consist of two (2) non-voting advisory positions, which shall be open to students enrolled in Matawan-Aberdeen Regional High School who shall be appointed by the Township Council to terms ending January 31 of each year.
  • b. Duties and Functions. The Environmental and Shade Tree Advisory Board’s duties and functions shall be as follows:
  •   1. Study, review and determine the existing quality of the air and waterways in the Township.
  •   2. On behalf of the Township Council, receive and investigate allegations of air or water pollution in the Township; advise the Council of any findings and offer recommendations.
  •   3. Study, review and determine the desirability of a Township reclamation-recycling program; advise the Council of its findings and recommendations; administer such a program if the Council so determines.
  •   4. Provide comments to the Planning Board regarding the environmental impact of proposed projects and developments within the Township.
  •   5. Study ways to improve the quality of the physical environment within the Township; advise the council of its findings and recommendations.
  •   6. Perform any other studies or functions as directed by the Township Council.
  •   7. The Board shall have the following additional duties and functions;
  •      (a)  To advise and make recommendations to the Planning Board concerning shade trees.
  •      (b)  To advise the Township Manager concerning:
  •            (1) The regulation, planting and care of shade and ornamental trees, shrubbery now located or which may hereafter be planted in any public highway or parkway, including the planting, trimming and spraying, care and protection thereof.
  •           (2) The regulation and control of the use of the ground surrounding the same so far as may be necessary for the proper growth, care and protection.
  •           (3) Moving or requiring the removal of any tree or part thereof dangerous to public safety.

The Environmental and Shade Tree Advisory Board shall annually file a written report with the Township Council relating the functions and activities of the Environmental and Shade Tree Advisory Board for the previous year.

(1973 Code § 2-21.4; Ord. No. 1-1981; Ord. No. 2-1992) (ClerkBase)


2019 Board membership:

Don Gordon (Jan 2017)
Pat Noble (Oct 2017)
Kizzie Osborne (Jan 2016)
Paul Rinear (Chair) (2013 Alt, Reg, Chair)
Tina Walling (Jan 2015)

Steven Nascimento (Jan 2017)
Andrew Schueller (Jan 2015)


Brittany Shea – Clean Communities Coordinator
Catherine Morello – Recycling Coordinator

Former Board Members:

Adeline Kathleen Arnold (1972-2007 Reg, Chair) (Obituary)
Robert Berardo (2013)
Valerie David (2013-17 Reg)
Michele Devaney (2013-16 Reg)
Frank Huza (1992-2014 Reg, Vice Chair, Chair)
Aldwin “Biff” Merz (Obituary, 24 Apr 1989 Asbury Park Press)
Chris Mularadelis (2013-2015 Reg, Alt)
Matthew Santiago (2016 Alt)

Marina Manova (2015-17)
Diana Sik-Gritz (2016-17)
Matthew Santiago (2015-16)
Nairooti Patel (2013-14)
Radhika Kumar (2013-14)
Sonia Pratap (1994-95)
Gia Bernhardt (Oct 2017-18)
Jeffrey Wheeler (Oct 2017-18)


  • Res 2017-42 Appointments through 31 Jan 2018
  • Res 2017-95 Appointments through 31 Jan 2018 (filled 3 unexpired terms)
  • Res 2016-35 Appointments through 31 Jan 2017
  • Res 2015-35 Appointments through 31 Jan 2016
  • Res 2014-34 Appointments through 31 Jan 2015
  • Res 2013-36 Appointments through 31 Jan 2014

Key Documents